Author or Editor: Michelle Bourgeois (DTS) - Edit

Erasing an iPad Using LANrev Admin

School staff and DTS have the ability to remote erase iPads using the LANrev Admin Console.

When should this command be used?

This command is used when a student leaves the school without erasing the iPad assigned to them. It should never be used on an iPad that is lost or missing as it will keep the user and DTS from locating the device.

To Remote Erase an iPad using LANrev Admin:

  1. Search for the device in LANrev.
  2. Confirm that the device is connecting to the LANrev server by viewing the information in the “Mobile Device Last Contact” field. If the device hasn’t connected recently, try issuing an “Update Device Info” command.
  3. Select Commands > Erase Device…
  4. In the dialog box that appears, select Remove Activation Lock and Erase Device.
    Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 8.57.34 AM
    Do NOT use the Erase Device option as this will keep the device from being able to be re-issued to another user.
  5. In the confirmation box that appears, select Remove Activation Lock and Erase Device.
    Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 8.57.52 AM
  6. You should see the Apple Logo appear on the screen of the iPad as it goes through the process of erasing. Once completed,  the iPad will appear at the initial welcome screen and is ready for a new user.

Last updated by black_erik on 2016-06-13 08:35:54

Comments are closed.